If you’re involved in an automobile accident in Missouri, the law mandates that you pull over promptly and exchange contact information with the other drivers. Unfortunately, many drivers are either preoccupied with something else or too scared to stop. Instead, they run away, abandoning the injured with no apparent means of rescue.
A victim of an automobile accident can typically file a claim for damages against the negligent driver’s insurance policy. But that option is no longer available unless you track out the motorist who hit you. Many victims have justifiable concerns that they may be unable to cover their costs, such as medical expenses or vehicle repairs.
We’re sorry to hear that a hit-and-run accident left you hurt. It will be difficult to collect compensation, but a personal injury lawyer has developed five strategies to help you cope with the financial burden.
Make Use Of Your Health Insurance’s Medical Expenses Protection
Residents do not need medical payment insurance if they are in the state of Missouri. On the other hand, having medical payment coverage is a good safeguard. It is a system that covers medical costs regardless of who was at fault. Benefits for medical reimbursement are regularly utilised to cover unforeseen medical expenses or to fulfil deductibles required by health insurance policies. Check the details of your insurance to see if you have the option to get medical payments.
Make Use Of Your Medical Insurance
If you have health insurance, you can receive medical treatment for any injuries you experience in a car accident. You might have access to medical care provided by your job or individually purchase a policy through a marketplace. Both scenarios are possible. At the same time, others will be taken care of by Medicare or Medicaid, two health care programmes that the government operates.
Use Your Collision Coverage To Get Your Car Fixed
If your car becomes scratched, what steps should you take next? Collision insurance would pay for any repairs or medical bills resulting from an accident. If you have a car loan, the likelihood is high that you already have collision insurance on your vehicle. Most financial organisations won’t give out a loan for a car unless the person buying the car has excellent credit. If you have collision insurance and your vehicle is damaged due to an accident, the insurance company should pay to repair it.
Use Your Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Protection against uninsured motorists is required by law in Missouri and is thus included in most insurance policies. This is another wonderful benefit that will come in handy if you are injured in an accident where the other driver flees the scene. You should ensure that your bodily injury insurance covers you for at least $25,000 per wounded person and up to $50,000 total for any injuries sustained in an accident.
Uninsured motorist coverage, on the other hand, will not kick in until the collision is not your fault. Medical payments coverage, however, will pay out regardless of who was at blame. However, reimbursement for medical costs and lost wages are included in the coverage provided by this insurance.
Find The Car’s Driver And Help The Police!
Any information you can provide to the authorities, such as the colour of the vehicle and the direction in which it was travelling, would be extremely helpful in their search for the driver who caused the accident but fled the scene. The authorities can also check with the businesses nearby to see if they have any surveillance footage showing the vehicle in issue.